About the Connecticut College of Emergency Physicians

The Connecticut College of Emergency Physicians is the local chapter of national ACEP, the American College of Emergency Physicians. Connecticut ACEP exists to support the availability of high-quality emergency medical services to all patients within the state of Connecticut, and to advocate for our members, our patients and our specialty.

Founded in 1972, the chapter actively represents more than 400 emergency physicians, residents and medical students working at hospitals throughout Connecticut. Connecticut ACEP is a diverse and democratic organization that promotes and preserves the integrity and independence of emergency medicine. We are focused on improving the practice of emergency medicine through outreach, education and research initiatives.

We are actively involved in a wide range of issues that matter to emergency physicians and our patients, including ongoing legislation in Hartford, public health and safety, disaster preparedness and response, special liability reform, improving access to emergency care, and EMS-related issues. As a member of Connecticut ACEP, you are making sure your voice is heard by state lawmakers. You are also learning about issues that affect you and your patients and you are contributing to the advancement of your specialty.

Our mission includes:

  • To be the voice of emergency medicine in the state of Connecticut
  • To increase respect in the house of medicine by providing leadership at the local, state and national levels
  • To respond to the practice needs of our members through education, information and advocacy
  • To provide a forum for social interaction and networking with other emergency physicians from around the state

Board of Directors

  • President: Kevin Joseph Sprague, II, MD
  • President-Elect:¬†Douglas Anthony Smith, DO, FACEP
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Listy Anam Thomas, MD
  • Immediate Past President: Ije E Akunyili, MD, FACEP

Board Members:

  • Thomas A Brunell, MD, FACEP
  • Michael L Carius, MD, FACEP
  • Zoe Casey, MD
  • Daniel Freess, MD, FACEP
  • Carlos Patrick Holden, MD, FACEP
  • B Bryan Jordan, DO
  • Karen J Jubanyik-Barber, MD
  • Vivek Parwani, MD, FACEP
  • Elizabeth Schiller, MD, FACEP
  • Gregory Shangold, MD, FACEP
  • Trent T She, MD, FACEP
  • Venkat Subramanyam, MD
  • Steven A Valassis, MD, FACEP
  • Anuj Vohra, DO, FACEP
  • David E Wilcox, MD, FACEP

2023 Councillors:

  • Thomas A Brunell, MD, FACEP
  • Daniel Freess, MD, FACEP
  • Carlos Patrick Holden, MD, FACEP
  • Elizabeth Schiller, MD, FACEP
  • Gregory Shangold, MD, FACEP

Executive Directors: Tricia Dinneen Priebe and Lisa Winkler

View our chapter bylaws (PDF)