About Us

Connecticut ACEP is the local chapter of national ACEP, the American College of Emergency Physicians. Founded in 1972, the chapter actively represents more than 400 emergency physicians and residents in Connecticut.

We are actively involved in a wide range of issues that matter to emergency physicians and our patients, including emergency medical services and liability reform. We provide our members with significant benefits through active committees, continuing medical education programs and legislative lobbying.

Our mission includes:

  • To be the voice of emergency medicine in the state of Connecticut
  • To increase respect in the house of medicine by providing leadership at the local, state and national levels
  • To respond to the practice needs of our members through education, information and advocacy
  • To provide a forum for social interaction and networking with other emergency physicians from around the state


Board of Directors
President: Hynes Birmingham, MD
Vice President: Tom Brunell, MD
Treasurer: Dan Freess, MD
Immediate Past President: Elizabeth Schiller, MD

Board Members:
Robert Bazuro, MD
Thomas Brunell, MD
Michael Carius, MD
Alexis Cordiano, MD 
Mark Dziedzic, MD
Dan Freess, MD
Frank Illuzzi, MD
David John, MD 
Bryan Jordan, DO
Karen Jubanyik, MD
Rich Kamin, MD
Seth Lotterman, MD
Alberto Perez, MD
Morton Salomon, MD
Gregory Shangold, MD
Carin Van Gelder, MD
Arjun Venkatesh, MD
David Wilcox, MD
Michael Zanker, MD

Dan Freess, MD
David John, MD
Alberto Perez, MD
Morton Salomon, MD
Mark Dziedzic, MD
Hynes Birmingham, MD

Committees and Task Forces
Education: Dan Freess, MD
Bylaws: Michael L. Carius, MD, FACEP
Finance: David Wilcox, MD
Governmentt Affairs/Legislative: Michael Zanker, MD
EMS Advisory Committee: Carin Van Gelder, MD
Ultrasound Task Force: Jorge Otero, MD
SAME/SAFE Working Group: Zoe Casey, MD
DPH OEMS Liaison: Rich Kamin, MD

Executive Directors: Tricia Dinneen Priebe and Lisa Winkler View our chapter bylaws (PDF)